top of page
  • 作家相片siyipu

「Artist Research 」Sachiko Abe





Sachiko Abe is a performance artist. The series of paper-cutting works stimulates the audience visually and auditoryly. At the same time, the artist said: "In the psychiatric hospital, I have always committed suicide and self-mutilation, but I am very quiet when cutting paper." This means that The behavior is a soothing and healing for the artist. Sachiko has been cutting paper since she entered the hospital at the age of 20. This work lasted for nearly 14 years, and she cut 10 hours per day. There are about 42,700 sheets of paper. The doctor found that the reduced paper always kept a distance of 1mm. The doctor said that this behavior may be the unique ability of mental patients.

Apart from the color of the paper, the artist stated that the sound and rhythm of the scissors are very important to her, so she wanted to pass these sounds to the audience and let them hear. Therefore, she will arrange microphones and sounds around the performance, and as the audience gets closer to her, the sounds of breathing and scissors and paper will become more and more clear.

I was attracted by Sachiko's work because I think her behavior and the process of this work are connected to my project. When I was making salt chains, I was also very quiet, and my mood was very stable. The process of making the work is also part of the cure.

The sound of paper-cutting is very important to the artist in the whole process, so I started to think, what is important to me in the production process? Of course, this also connects the meaning of salt to me at this stage.

2,920 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

SIYI PU Critical Evaluation

In this two years, I built up new myself from jewelry worker who lack of thoughts to a more mature designer. I was growing up by exploring art through salt in this journey. And depend on salt, combine

bottom of page